Follow us:
Home Blog
CFB Home

College Football: Big Ten Coach of the Year Award Winners

Below is a list of past winners of the Big Ten Coach of the Year Award.

More Big Ten college football awards:

+ MORE: College football awards - national and conference awards

+ More sports: NFL Awards - MLB Awards - NBA Awards

YearCoach, School
2021Mel Tucker II, Michigan State
2020Tom Allen, Indiana
2019(tie) Ryan Day, Ohio State; P.J. Fleck, Minnesota
2018Pat Fitzgerald, Northwestern
2017Paul Chryst, Wisconsin
2016(tie) Paul Chryst, Wisconsin; James Franklin, Penn State
2015Kirk Ferentz, Iowa
2014Jerry Kill, Minnesota
2013Mark Dantonio, Michigan State
2012Bill O'Brien, Penn State
2011Brady Hoke, Michigan
2010Mark Dantonio, Michigan State
2009Kirk Ferentz, Iowa
2008Joe Paterno, Penn State
2007Ron Zook, Illinois
2006Bret Bielema, Wisconsin
2005Joe Paterno, Penn State
2004Kirk Ferentz, Iowa
2003John Smith, Michigan State
2002Kirk Ferentz, Iowa
2001Ron Turner, Illinois
2000Randy Walker, Northwestern
1999Glen Mason, Minnesota
1998Barry Alvarez, Wisconsin
1997Joe Tiller, Purdue
1996Gary Barnett, Northwestern
1995Gary Barnett, Northwestern
1994Joe Paterno, Penn State
1993Barry Alvarez, Wisconsin
1992Gary Moeller, Michigan
1991Gary Moeller, Michigan
1990Hayden Fry, Iowa
1989John Mackovic, Illinois
1988John Mackovic, Illinois
1987Bill Mallory, Indiana
1986Bill Mallory, Indiana
1985Bo Schembechler, Michigan
1984Leon Burtnett, Purdue
1983Mike White, Illinois
1982Dennis Green, Northwestern
1981Hayden Fry, Iowa
1980Bo Schembechler, Michigan
1979Earle Bruce, Ohio State
1978Jim Young, Purdue
1977Darryl Rogers, Michigan State
1976Bo Schembechler, Michigan
1975Woody Hayes, Ohio State
1974Dennis Stolz, Michigan State
1973Woody Hayes, Ohio State
1972Bo Schembechler, Michigan

More awards:

Check out more of our content:

Keep track of our site's updates: (1) follow us on Twitter, (2) like us on Facebook and/or (3) subscribe to our newsletter.